The History of The Melbourne Vixens Netball Team

By Michael Kachitsa

The Melbourne Vixens is Netball Victoria’s representative team competing in Australia’s national netball competition, Suncorp Super Netball.

The Vixens franchise was launched in 2008 during the formation of a new Trans-Tasman competition, the ANZ Championship, with the amalgamation of two Victorian teams – the Melbourne Phoenix and Melbourne Kestrels.

During the ANZ Championship’s nine-year the Vixens claimed two premierships – in 2009 and 2014.

Prior to the ANZ Championship, the Commonwealth Bank Trophy was the premier netball competition in Australia. Two teams were operated by Netball Victoria – the Melbourne Kestrels and the Melbourne Phoenix.

Both teams hosted the cream of Victoria’s netballing elite. Names such Shelley O’Donnell and Simone McKinnis led the teams who blooded new talent with names that are legendary in today’s netball world; McMahon, Chatfield, Corletto.

With the beginning of the new competition in 2008 both teams were merged to form what was considered the dream team, a mixture of the Phoenix’s experience and success, and the new, upcoming talent of the Kestrels.

The letters PKNC feature on the back of each Melbourne Vixens dress, standing for Phoenix Kestrels Netball Club, celebrating our rich history of netball success.

The Melbourne Vixens has a short but proud history of being one of the premier teams in Suncorp Super Netball (formerly the ANZ Championship), arguably the world’s best netball league.

In 2015 the Melbourne Vixens Club was established as a way to recognise and acknowledge the athletes who have worn the Vixens dress with pride since the team was formed in 2008.

All players who have been contracted or taken the court for the Vixens have a number allocated to them corresponding with their time in the team.