Home » News » The Central Region Pool League (CRPL) has a new executive committee

The Central Region Pool League (CRPL) has a new executive committee

By Sylvester Kumwenda

Lilongwe, Mana: The Central Region Pool League (CRPL) has a new executive committee following elections conducted on Saturday at CIVO Club House in Lilongwe, with Kennedy Kalilombe as the new chairman.

Kalilombe who was previously an interim chairman got 19 votes, beating Emmanuel Empo who received 16 votes in elections overseen by the Malawi Pool Association (MAPA), to which CRPL is affiliated to.

In his acceptance speech, Kalilombe thanked all affiliates for their support, and congratulated MAPA for conducting what he described as a successful, credible, free and fair election.

“The voice of our affiliates has been heard on what they wanted. For those who did not make it, the competition is over and it is time to bury all the differences and move forward as one unit to achieve   our common goal, which is developing our sport in our region,” he said.

Kalilombe subsequently urged the new executive committee to immediately get to work in order to prove themselves worthy of their respective offices.

“Affiliates are our bosses and not other way round. Listen to them, understand them, and in so doing they will be properly served with respect.

“To our affiliates, I urge you to respect the current leadership and provide us with constructive criticism because you also have an important role to play in developing pool in the central region,” said Kalilombe.

The new General Secretary is Prince Manondo who got 20 votes, beating Gideon Kachale who got 15 votes.

Vice General secretary is Herbert Thumpwa who won with 21 votes, beating Light Lita who got 14 votes.

Grey Chifweni Nyirenda is the Treasure General and Fazili Jamal is the Technical Director, both went unopposed.

Representatives of central region based pool clubs which are affiliated to CRPL were involved in the voting process.

In his remarks, MAPA General Secretary Grayson Chisanje urged the entire CRPL for unity.

“We urge you to support the office bearers and avoid doing things that can lead into division,” he said.

The committee will stay in office for 3 years.