Government to proceed delinking UNIMA into three universities

Government will proceed to delink the University of Malawi (UNIMA) into three universities; namely the Malawi University of Business and Applied Sciences (MUBAS) through Act No. 19 of 2019; the Kamuzu University of Health Sciences (KUHES); and the University of Malawi (UNIMA) passed as Act No. 18 of 2019.

The government communicated its position on Thursday February 18, 2021 in Lilongwe at a meeting where Vice President Dr. Saulos Chilima met with the Council of the University of Malawi alongside the Minister of Justice Hon. Titus Mvalo, the Attorney General Hon. Chikosa Silungwe, Director of Higher Education Dr. Levis Eneya and officials from the Department of Statutory Corporations and Public Sector Reforms.

Speaking with Leyman Publications Director of Higher Education Dr Levis Eneya said the meeting was a follow up to the one held on February, 2, 2021 which discussed the resolution made by the Council to review the process of delinking the University of Malawi. Prior to delivering its position, there have been consultations within the government hierarchy to affirm its position to proceed with the delinking process.

“ Moving forward, the Ministry of Education will proceed to gazette the commencement date for the 2019 Acts of Parliament in line with Section 74 of the Constitution; implement a detailed Plan of Action on the delinking; and establish a Transitional Unit to oversee and conclude the process” Said Eneya.

According to a press statement issued by the press secretary in the office of the vice president Pilirani Phiri, the delinking of UNIMA is a progressive process in increasing access to higher education and improving governance and operational efficiency in public universities in Malawi.